The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Horns

"That's close enough, buddy....."

I went to see the Highlands for the first time this year. I still miss the much bigger herd that was there up to three years or so ago. They were such a motley crew of characters, providing what seemed like endless photo opportunities for grey days. Now there are just three adults and the calf that was born last year. This is the calf's mother, she is developing a very fine pair of handlebars.

It was Gus's second walk of the day over the Knott. This time I was feeling rather more sore than the first time, as in between I went to the hospital to have a sample of bone marrow taken for the biopsy follow up to treatment last year.

After the procedure, the nurse showed me the tiny sliver of marrow in a tube. "All that pain for so little", she joked. It did seem a lot worse than the first time, perhaps that's a good sign? As ever, she and her colleague were as kind as angels. Afterwards, I ate two packets of Bourbons with my cup of tea, I don't normally like Bourbons much, but they went down a treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.