Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Butterflies dancing

Yes, there are a pair of butterflies in this shot, just follow the boys eyes.

I must have looked a right eccentric, creeping around, hobbled over, then chasing this pair of butterflies doing a dance (me as well as the butterflies). The three young lads, squatting by the edge of the paddy, giggling away would probably agree, but being a professional blipper, I do not let such things concern me. They've seen it all before anyway, often coming with me and pointing out stuff that I have missed.

I wasn't having any luck with the butterflies, however, I could see where they were heading and so gave up on the butterfly chase and prepared for THE shot. Closer to the boys face would have been better, but I am well pleased with this result, probably one of my favorites, at least of the humanoid species. Hope you like it too. Regardless, it was great fun, as I really like connecting with these kids, even if they do think I am a loon!

These two butterflies flew in tight circles around each other for quite a distance. Notice how the wings of both are in sync, was this just chance or do courting butterflies fly in sync. I could not find anything with a bit of research, so I will be looking out for this in future.

Conehead from yesterday update - I was surprised that so many of you had not seen this critter, it is actually in the UK. I am sure that I remember collecting the odd one or two in the hills around Barmouth, north Wales when I was a ten year old, but according to research, this is incorrect. It was forty six years ago, so I could be mistaken.

Bike update - I managed to freewheel the mile, with a bit of shuffling at the start until I got to the steeper inclines. The mechanic looked at the bike straight away, dropping what he was doing. I did some pointing and he created some sparks with a piece of wire from a few junctions. After five minutes he pointed to the coil (what a relief!) and I gave the thumbs up. Fifteen minutes later, it was all fitted and the bike re-assembled. Cost - $9 all fitted and a packet of smokes for a tip. Oh yes, I love Indonesia!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.