Possibly the best

By Letters

Tilting at Windmills

Ever since a neighbour filed a planning application to build a windmill on my land I have been somewhat scathing about the proliferation of windfarms in rural settings. I have no real problem with the concept and support renewables providing they are properly evidenced and sited.
The glens near Huntly in Aberdeenshire are scarred with the things and I even have a tiny bit of sympathy with that Trump fellow in his suggestion that the Aberdeen offshore windfarm may completely destroy his business plan. Of course it will, but perhaps the North East has enough golf courses.
I digress. One of the major concerns about windmills is the effect they may have on the wildlife, farm animals and landscape.
This scene near Old Meldrum suggests that given just a wee bit of planning, windmills can fit in well with the countryside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.