She'll be coming round the mountain.....

A plethora of blips today.  Our last day in Spain for this trip (plans for May) so after sorting out the villa and having a leftovers lunch we headed the scenic route to the airport.  It's only the second time in quite a few years that we have flown in and out of Murcia - which means Ryanair!  Small airport, few facilities and may be chaotically busy in the summer but OK in January.  Interesting problem at security - my boarding pass was on my phone - security wanted phone to go through the scanner - they then asked to see my boarding pass - I said it was going through the scanner.... security looked at boarding pass and then put it through the scanner!

On the way from villa to airport we deviated through the mountains.  I had stopped to take an interesting shot of cat-shaped pylon against an interesting sky (it had some clouds in it) and then we chanced upon a derelict station.  Pause to take a look.  Building very derelict but track looked good - one train a year I thought.  I went onto the track to get the wide view (John was acting as look out) and then, to my amazement I heard a train's hooter.  I moved off the track and then, along came a train!  I took a few shots of the train approaching (waved to driver and passengers) and as I turned to take back shots - my camera card said FULL!  I found one chair on the old platform so posed that in a few places before we moved on.

I was beginning to think I was not going to find a ruin for today but we did see one (and then quite a few more) along a stretch of the motorway.  We found a slip road and went exploring.  This had been an old farmhouse and is up for sale - quite a bit of renovation necessary - an old well in the back yard, small rooms, roof not great, stairs looked dodgy - we won't be putting in an offer!

Flight good and on time, Luton airport cold and windy but now home. I'll put a few more pics in Facebook.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.