The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Castle Pitch, Stroud

Another morning of sudden sunshine and shadows. Every time I got my camera out the sun disappeared! Down Castle Street on my way to work, I fell in love with a copper beech, but it did not make the final blip because of the lack of sun. This enticing gate and side windows in Castle Pitch was my selection. The pitch, or steep path, slopes downhill till it reaches the A419 London road, on the other side of which lies Waitrose. The path continues in front of the supermarket, down some steps, across another road, and then should lead across the river Frome by a narrow bridge at Capel's Mill, and up across some fields to the area of town known as Rodborough. Because of the canal restoration the part of the path below the supermarket has been diverted, so it would not be possible to make a totally smooth descent and ascent, even if I had the stamina to do so!

My sister TMLHereandThere asked me about "Stroud Castle" while she was here, and I realised I knew nothing about it! So, here is some web info:

"Another large house was the Castle on the south side of Castle Street. There was a house there by 1687 when it was owned by a clothier, Richard Arundell, who died c. 1732. A later owner was the clothier Charles Freebury (d.c. 1795), and in 1809 the Castle was bought by P. H. Fisher, (fn. 48) the historian of Stroud, who occupied it until his death in 1873. (fn. 49) The basement storey retains 17th-century features but the house was extensively remodelled in the 18th century, apparently c. 1789, (fn. 50) and the office wing on the west was enlarged in the 19th century. The house was known as the Castle by 1732, (fn. 51) and the name is evidently older than the embattled folly which is built into the garden wall."

The Castle is very near the Blackboy school, which I last blipped on 13th October. I walk through the conservation area of town to get to work, and am daily thankful that I live in such a blippable place!

On Tuesdays I go to Stonehouse for my lit and social history of the 1930s course, and I was tempted to post up my photo of the former coaching inn at the centre of the town. The sky was blue, and everything golden. But the creeper covering it was the same colour as yesterday's shot, so it will have to take second place. The course is engaging, and the biscuits at the tea break second to none. Next term I may even do "understanding paintings" though I am more of a word-lover myself. Still, all the chocolate biscuits I can eat, and a chance to pop in to the Co-op to buy pecan danish pastries: what's not to like?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.