Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Day #10 San Juan del Sur - Butterfly day!

Today we have been in Nicaragua in a place called San Juan del Sur. 
As usual we have been on tour - this time, a little bit of history and then a visit to an adventure park high in the forest. This gave us chance to do canopy walks or zip-lining, but due to my not-so-perfect knee, we opted for the guided walk and even though it was tougher going than I was expecting, it was fabulous to see so many different butterflies and insects. 
I think this one is a Malachite - it looks more yellow than it was due to the sun backlighting it. It was a very beautiful species whatever it was, but it didn't sit still for very long - how very inconsiderate!
There were many different species all fluttering about and I have put a some of the others I managed to photograph in extras, along with a banana spider, which was massive!!
In fact I'd say that there were more butterflies here than I have seen in various butterfly houses around the world - it was amazing. 

Thank you all for continuing to visit my journal and leaving hearts, stars and comments. It's been so lovely reading them all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.