Golden Hour Geese

So lovely to see the sun and blue sky. I picked up my repaired 7DMkII this afternoon and went to Fishers Green to try it out. By then the sun was low in the sky so I made for the bridge over Seventy Acres Lake. I was joined by a young Polish man and we got talking photography. As we were chatting a Cetti's warbler let out its loud burst of song. I wondered how the man was getting on with learning the English names for birds. He said quite well as he saw few birds where he lived in Poland and didn't know their Polish names.

We both enjoyed listening to the Canada geese honking away to one another then seeing them catch the golden rays as they took to the air.

On the way back to the car at dusk I noticed a motionless tufted duck at the water's edge. I got quite close before it moved. The poor thing was injured, I think it had a broken wing. It bravely launched itself into the lake and swam towards a reedbed, trying repeatedly to fly. :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.