Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Witch Hazel: Wild Wednesday

This delicate plant is sometimes known as Winterbloom. Botanical name: Hamamelis. I love the ribbon-like crinkled petals.
The leaves and bark are used to make a skin-healing astringent.

Some years ago, I used to make my own face products from natural ingredients, including essential oils. I used Witch Hazel as an astringent after cleansing. Very happy with my homemade recipes, I once asked if my skin smelt lovely and wholesome!  I was told that my Witch Hazel made me smell of May bugs (Cockchafer)!!!!  Have you ever smelt a May bug? I haven't!   Hmmmm!

Thank you to Cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesday! 
Maybe I should have put up a picture of a May bug instead?! I guess they're hibernating right now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.