creative lenna

By creativelenna

Last Day of Workshop

I decided to do a collage of photos for the last day of Bill Buchman's Expressive Figure Drawing workshop. My goodness, there was just so much packed into those 3 days! I am glad I already own Bill's book on the subject - Check it out HERE. I bought it for his in depth description of mixed media supplies that we were using in his abstract "Creative Breakout" classes, but this book is probably where my interest got piqued for this workshop. Now I can go back and go over the principles he taught us this week in that very book. Phew! All he taught us was a lot to take in within the space of a few days. I was really tired yesterday, but have rested & recovered now. Next week I will take a 2-day workshop with him called The Imagination Workshop :o) Fortunately it is held at a local Art Center in Sarasota and I do not have to drive so far. Plus, I have never taken this creative workshop with him before! 

Above, top left: Bill is demonstrating for us using an "Art Chunky" colored charcoal to draw the model, first concentrating on the guiding principle of 'Mass,' followed by adding 'Line' as in contour lines, in a contrasting color. The bottom left photo is Bill's drawing that he used to teach us the guiding principle of 'Shape'. I found that really quite interesting and helpful. 

The middle two photos in the collage are group shots of student work - I have added my name next to my drawings.  
There were 10 of us in the class. It was a good group of students and Bill was quite pleased with the turnout. Sometimes he had to get us back 'on track' after we fell back into old ways -looking at the paper too much and not really seeing the model, but all in all I think he was very pleased with the progress we all made. He said we were all doing better than we thought! 

The top right photo is one of mine, done with Sumi Ink and a brush designed by Bill. I really like the freedom these art materials provided me. The bottom right is again a group photo of student work, but this time we used a brush and thin acrylic paint to do a mass interpretation of the model, followed by contour lines.  WheW! 

Bill offers to sign his book, Expressive Figure Drawing for any student who purcahses it. This is what he wrote in my copy, 4 or 5 years ago . . . 

"To Lenna, My good friend, excellent student artist, and stalwart recorder of our happenings. Thanks and looking forward to more! Best Always, Bill Buchman."

I have made many videos and albums of class photos with his permision and enthusiastic support! Thank you Bill -see you next week! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.