JoolzFawcett

By JoolzF

Feeding Frenzy

For my lunchtime walk today I strolled through Lickey Woods to the fish ponds and lake. There are always plenty of birds on the lake, mostly ducks and geese, but often quite a few black-headed gulls.

When I see them it reminds me of an ornithologist friend who always practically throws a fit if anyone within earshot uses the word "seagull". "There are no such thing as seagulls. There' are only gulls." he says. And of course he is right.

Anyway, while I stood by the lake some people came along and started throwing a gigantic amount of bread for the birds. The feeding frenzy that followed was impressive. The gulls were very aggressive and stole a lot of the food, though some of the ducks and geese gave as good as they got.

I think this photo gives a strong sense of confusion and motion. The birds are creating such waves you could almost think it was sea rather a completely calm lake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.