I Have A Cunning Plan!

By BrianWard

All part of the process....

(Not too bad in mono !)
I knew this was going to be a bit of a task, but I thought I'd give it a go!
This is a 4 frame stitch - iso 200 / f8 / 8 second exposure (each frame!).
The trouble is, in 8 seconds, by 4 frames, you get, people, people with dogs, people with children and, worst of all, traffic - bicycles, but far worse - cars! 
Luckily, 8 seconds blurs out a lot of the distractions, but one frame in particular I had to shoot 3 or 4 times!
Then there's the stitching together. I know (now, after the fact) it would have been better with a more person perspective friendly lens - say the nifty 50. This gives a more "normal" view of the world, mostly free of distortion, which can be quite dramatic at 8mm (16mm equivalent field of view). Next time I'll know!
Over the 4 frames the verticals and horizontals end up all over the place! Again, with a level camera - I mean vertically level, the perspective would be ok. I think I'd have needed to be on the first floor or similar of a building to achieve that! I was horizontally level, on the tripod, but the distortions still look like something taken on a fish-eye lens, rather than "just" on the 8mm.
At least Photoshop does a fair job of correcting the distortion, but, I'm guessing that you can tell, the Minster turned out rather flat and nowhere near as grand as it actually is in reality.
Next time....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.