Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Atmospherics

Yep, found myself early at Stonehenge this morning and in deep fog. As you can see, the sun was struggling to burn through, but didn't seem to be making much headway. It was still heavy when I left two hours later. However, the stones were fetching, as always, and lived up to the atmospherics. So I was quite pleased with this shot, even if it's not saying anything particularly new.

But, wow, I didn't realise what a circus that place has become. Lots of chaps in hi-vis jackets guarding the stones like it was a military base rather than an ancient monument, Cars and coaches pouring in even before the gates opened. It seemed like all most people were interested in was having their picture taken against the background of stones, but I hope they enjoyed it.

One thing made me laugh - about a mile from the henge on the A303 (big fast road for those of you who don't live here) there is now a traffic sign which reads, "World Heritage site - please drive carefully". Why? Are you about to relocate some of the stones down onto the road? :))

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.