There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

The Road Home

"Roads go ever ever on
Under cloud and under star,
Yet feet that wandering have gone
Turn at last to home afar."
- J.R.R. Tolkien

This is the road I live on.

Thursday morning, the sun was just starting to rise as I left my house to go to work.

I stopped less than a mile from my house and turned around and looked back the road I live on to take this picture.

The quote, by the way, is from "The Road Goes Ever On," a walking song composed by Bilbo Baggins in the Tolkien tale of The Hobbit.

Near the end of his long journey home, Bilbo sees his home in the distance and stops to recite the words of this song.

Sometimes I find the beautiful rural scenes and rolling hills of my beloved central Pennsylvania not unlike the lovely green shires of Tolkien's tales.

I think hobbits would love it here. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.