The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Ball and Chain

I spent most every waking hour this week chained to my desk at the office, making amends for my week in Italy. After my brief meetings there, I totally detached from the US like I have never done before. As a result, I met a Tsunami on Monday morning.

But, despite being crushed at work over the last five days, both Bonnie and I remain grateful for our time in Italy. Not faced with the chores and responsibilities of everyday life, we live life much differently when we are there. It is more than the fact that we are on vacation and out of cell's reach that creates this pleasured life, our bliss is created by Italy itself and the way of Italian life.

My relatives in Italy always chide me, saying that the difference between Italians and American is that "Americans live to work and Italians work to live". Such is evident when you are there, even in a city such as Milan. Despite its position as a leading fashion and finance capital and its population of 4.3 million people, I find it remarkably relaxed when I compare it to New York, London, LA or Tokyo. The pace in the streets is slower, the workdays are shorter and the lunches are longer (and better) than those in NYC. And car horns are truly used when needed as opposed to being pressed at the exact nanosecond that traffic lights turn green. People smile and chat as they walk at a normal pace. A relaxed life is evident in every step that they take.

As a result, when I am there, time takes on a different continuum and it truly becomes what it was meant to be: a form of measurement rather than a deadline. And, each time, I repeatedly promise myself during the fourteen-hour trip home that I will remain true to the Italian Way. But, each and every time, the reality of my American life quickly dictates an entirely different approach in order to keep pace with my industry. This week proved no differently but I still escaped often to the Italy that remained vividly etched my mind. And, I am now counting the days until I am back there in March of next year.

I apologize for my unexplained absence. I was simply treading water for five straight days. I dutifully carried my camera each and every day but found no time to post or to be online. Even this emergency blip is posted five days late. Oh my, the irony.

I hope you are all well and I hope to resume a normal life quite soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.