Stroll by the Sea

Sea air and stunning scenery set the scene for our family stroll this afternoon. For the first time in the six months since my bro’s moved to the seaside, the undercliff walk wasn’t a howling wind tunnel although the air was bracingly cold.

The chalky sand and black rocks were exposed with the tide out, pools of water rippling in the late afternoon fading light. Hues of blue fell upon us as the sun set and in the distance golden cliffs to the east and the flashing beacon of a lighthouse.

We spotted a couple of Common Terns on the rocks searching for food in the shallow pools. Their bright red legs stood out against the black rock and with their black feathers they camouflaged so well my iPhone couldn’t pick them up on the camera. I must utilise my RSPB membership soon and visit a reserve.

Talking of wildlife did any of my British Blippers catch the first episode of the new Channel 5 series The Secret Life of Owls on TV this week? It features Stow Maries Great War Aerodrome which I visit regularly during air show season. It’s a must-see for wildlife lovers.

Talking of must-see, the BAFTAs left me with a big list of films to catch up on. I’m thrilled Gary Oldman won Best Leading Actor for Darkest Hour. Such a privilege to have been involved in such a small part of the filming in November 2016 and a richly deserved award for Gary. Fantastic the make up team scooped up an award too... and so they should!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.