For Lorenzo and all of our children

Impassioned, brilliant, determined to not be broken, determined to be heard, I salute these students, our children.

As an educator I ask my self all the questions in this article, wondering if I was not in retirement, but confronted in my old classroom as I taught. What would I do? Once, at dismissal time, in my first year of teaching, I grabbed a child from the path of an approaching bus. The winter wind had whisked the hat from his head and he instinctively darted after it. One child, not a classroom of 20 plus five year olds sprayed with bullets. How can teachers protect their children against automatic weapons? 

This must stop.

For the Record,
This day came in like spring with record temperatures.

All hands proud of the brave young people speaking up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.