Sharpen your skates!

Too late for mass start skating, but perhaps not for the Elfstedentocht in Friesland.
I am not a skater myself. My family is and this morning I was often drawn to my cellphone, for there was an enthusiastic discussion via the familygroup on WhatsApp, about the Siberian cold wave that has entered the country. They were reminiscing at first, with old photos and in the course of the morning they were making vague plans, because: what if..... Tasks were divided between the few non-skaters. The location of the event has not yet been determined, because: where if.....
They sounded very very passionate about the adventure and I must say that even I became a bit enthusiastic about seeing everyone in a sporting situation. Standing along a frozen lake, ditch or canal with Koek-en-zopie (peasoup and spiced cake ) however, is not my idea of having fun.
Let's wait what will happen when we hear the magic words: It giet oan! (It can take place! )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.