Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The Ponderer

Sorry for posting a Verdin two days in a row but I couldn't resist this guy.  The Verdin is found in the southwest and Mexico. It has one notable distinction: it is not closely related to any other bird in the western hemisphere. Scientists now believe that its closest relatives are several species of small, plain birds found in Eurasia, and Africa. At 4.5 in (11 cm) in length, it is one of the smallest passerines in North America. I always know when they're around because for such tiny fellows they have a big, distinctive  voice.

I've been messing with a few of my yard birds' heads recently.  I've recorded their calls and when I see them I stick the phone out the door and play it.  The Gila woodpeckers and Curve-billed thrashers try to figure out where the sound originates.  The Verdin don't seemed to be bothered.  I haven't gotten a decent recording of Zippy yet but I'm working on it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.