Flapping

Had a bit of a revelation this morning, as I dropped Ben off late to Sparklers and headed down to creche with Charley. Ok maybe not a revelation as I knew all this anyway but it became suddenly personal. I realised that Sunday mornings are not about Me. It's not about what I can get out of church, out of the meeting, out of the preach or the worship. My kids are as important as I am and to have not gone to church simply because I was tired and wouldn't get to sit in any of the service anyway would have been selfish and wrong. Ben loves going to church, he sees his friends, he gets to play, he learns Bible stories, he dances and jumps. He's happy. Charley enjoys himself too, creche is quieter than the toddler groups we go to, plus he gets biscuit bits and a sleepy cuddle all before we go home at the end. Who am I to deny them that just because I'm tired or won't get to hear any of the preach?

Anyway they did enjoy themselves, and I chatted to a few people I'd not caught up with in a while.

We ran out of nappies this afternoon. Yesterday was a no-laundry day because of how busy it was so the nappies didn't get washed :-/ Charley thought it fabulous that he could air his bits as he repeatedly launched himself away from the sofa and pretended that he could walk (aka flapped like a loon as he careered towards the floor) and also thought it rather fabulous that we had an apparently new fireplace to climb into! Ho ho ho, so where is Santa?!

The afternoon slipped by all too quickly with laundry and tv and baths and a sneaky nap (I fell asleep with Charley after bathtime) and dinner, and Steve was off out for a meeting.

Still living in interesting times. But blessed to know that he is well-regarded!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.