It’s WInston’s Turn

Dear Diary,

Winston, the sweet Downy Woodpecker, is demanding equal time. Sweet he may be but he is a cheeky fellow nonetheless. I put out nice suet cakes for him and Winifred and sometimes he hammers away at it but often it is the sunflower seed feeder where he just flings the seeds far and wide. Most seeds are located by the other birds and squirrels so nothing is really wasted.

I wish I could say that our melting will continue but another storm is heading our way tonight through Tuesday. 8-12 inches they say, a mere “dusting” compared to the last one. I will post another snow fillled photo tomorrow morning if the internet stays on but you can never tell. After all, it is still winter and it is northern New England. All this will just make the sight of those first daffodils all the more wonderful when they finally emerge. At least I can say the well will be nicely full when all of this melts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.