Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Photograher of politicians and celebrities

Meet Nick Posner, a GP in the north-east, who has had a second career as a portrait photographer alongside his day job.

When Nick was 18, he attended the Durham Miners' Gala, walked into the press compound and was able to capture images of three top politicians at the time. All three portraits were accepted by the National Portrait Gallery. Since then he has added 15 more portraits to the archive.

He gave a very entertaining talk about how he fell, almost by accident, into being a celebrity portrait photographer. He has written numerous letters over the years requesting the opportunity to photograph famous people.

Tonight we saw a lot of these portraits. I particularly enjoyed the trip down the political memory lane.

Nick agreed to being the subject for my blip tonight. I used the 85mm portrait lens at f 2.8, hence the drop off in focus around the edges. I think you can see something of his enthusiasm in the image.

I was at the ENT department this morning for an appointment that has been changed twice. In fact, this morning I was not on the list, but the admin department accepted they had not sent out he letter to tell me to attend on yet another day. The lovely registrar, Dr Khazi, fitted me in. I have a chronic ulcer on the septum which she has cauterised. That's enough of that.

The Walking Festival committee met here this afternoon. Recces have all been delayed by the weather but will start in earnest later this week. Let's hope the snow stays away now.

Shattered.

P.S. Nick Posner is from Sunderland and we attended the same school, but at different times. His father was a GP not far from where we lived. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.