Red Alert

Red is the great clarifier - bright and revealing. I can't imagine becoming bored with red - it would be like becoming bored with the person you love.
Diana Vreeland



Our birds were plentiful and busy this morning. I assumed I would blip this wonderful singing Carolina Wren today until Mr. Cardinal presented himself in red ruby splendor all the way down to his shoes. I usually find our cardinal pair shy and secretive, but Mr.was front and center this morning, munching on bittersweet berries.

This is the winter home of our Carolina Wren couple. Each of the last 4 years they have tucked up under our entry way and nested each night by our door. This is their first season in a proper house, they usually choose the old hanging geranium. That always presents a problem as the first frost kills the plant and I have to fashion a hanger with winter pine. I offered the little clay house this year and they took the bait. They retire each evening, she first as he sings her in around 6 PM and we hear his wake up song around 6:30 each morning. Two peanut butter colored bits of feather and bird wonder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.