CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Mark Levy beside his prints at the exhibition

I was worried when the snow fell quite thickly as Helena walked to the market early today. I decided I must assemble all the materials I need for tonight's SCTV Film Awards where I am in charge of showing all the projected film's from my laptop. I also needed to print the script for the lighting and sound man so went to the local printing shop in town.

Having got it all ready and printed, I walked around the corner to the Stroud Valley Artspace where there is an exhibition of local artists' interpretations of classic film posters. I had tried to see it before but the gallery hadn't been open. Luckily I arrived this morning as it opened and I got permission to take some pictures.

I've always loved film posters and used to blag them from my local Odeon and Ritz fleapits in the 1960s. I also ran an arts film society at my college for the duration of my studies there, which seriously influenced the quality of my other studies, much to their detriment. But I had a great time.

Mark Levy who gave me the permission this morning was doing duty as the representative of the artists. I chatted to him and when I heard his name I realised that he was the artist who had painted the 'Withnail and I' shown in my picture. I had heard that the actor Richard Grant, who he has pictured in the poster, had seen and really liked this new version of a poster for the film.

I grabbed a snap of Richard as he exited this door, beside his two posters. I should add that the top one I for 'Pan's Labyrinth'. which I thought my be a good blip. He apologised for getting in my picture and said he would pose for me. I grabbed another couple of pictures, but wasn't hopeful about the quality as being very rushed I trusted to luck and semi-auto settings.  But Mark's smile has made this my choice for today's blip.

The exhibition 'Film posters – reinterpreted' was curated by 'Good on Paper', Stroud's wonderful free monthly local arts listings magazine.

Mark Levy Illustration is his website, and you can see his work at instagram@MarkLevyArt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.