Sick Of The Sight Of Hospitals

After our frustrating day yesterday things went rapidly downhill last night….

Around 6:30 pm, just as I was starting to cook tea, we had a phone call from mother-in-law’s carer to say that she (MIL) was extremely poorly and needed someone to be with her. A non urgent ambulance had been requested by the 111 service. We managed to get her neighbour to go and sit in with her and we threw some stuff into a bag, loaded the dog in the car and drove up in horrible rain and wind, with it getting dark as well.

Arrived to find her looking extremely ill, vomiting and feeling cold. She got worse very rapidly and so we called for an urgent ambulance. It arrived quite quickly and after lots of tests whisked her off to hospital. Mrs madwill went along too. I stayed with Finlay, only to discover that Mrs madwill had left her phone behind, so I had to drive to Darlington hospital to take it for her - taking poor Finlay with me!

I was back at MIL’s house around 11:30 for some sleep when her care alarm went off and the contact centre came on the intercom asking if we needed help…her bed alarm had been triggered because she wasn’t in it! Bloomin’ technology. Then at 3 a.m. Mrs madwill called to say that her mum had been admitted and could I go and fetch her home! So another drive to Darlington and back, again with the dog for company.

Managed three more hours sleep before I woke up - very hungry as had no tea yesterday.

I took Finlay out for a walk down to the river (Tees) and got my blip shots (extra one today as well). A beautiful sunny spring day - at last.

We have been out for a brunch (as there is no food here in the house) and will shortly be off to hospital for visiting time.

No idea what time we will get back so am chucking my blip up early!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.