misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Official Portrait- Gracie T-t

Now that Gracie Twinkle-toes is 2 years old and frequently acting mature, she posed for this portrait while I kept rushing to capture it... moving increasingly closer to her. She just sat and waited until I was finished. Thank you GT-t.

A Gardening Note: the grass growing around the edges of the raised bed seems to be rather high about now. I have already put the mower away for the winter, so it can just wait until spring. The cat is sitting upon switchgrass or a paniculum variety that if allowed to grow without cutting easily gets 5 feet tall. I have allowed two stands of it to grow for 3 years. It looks just like the expensive ornamental grasses nearby. But a thick-bladed lawn entirely of switchgrass could make too much hay to cut. I made that mistake the first year I lived here. I let the lawn grow so I could see what was there. The succession of wild flowers rewarded me all summer. Alas, the various grasses grew so high by late summer that my neighbors came over two evenings in a row to mow and rake it before the village council fined me. Naive gardening...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.