A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Oppressed Opossum?

This little guy has been hanging around outside for a week or so. We keep spotting him rooting around in these cut branches, perhaps because the trees had some type of fruit on them - thornapples? Not for human consumption but maybe opossums like them. Maybe when they get really hungry, in late January, after weeks on end of well-below freezing temps, they will eat whatever they can find. I'm a little worried about this one since I think he should be hibernating and I know he should be nocturnal, so he is acting out of [opposum] character, as far as I can tell. I hope he is not sick. I decided to bundle up and go get a closer look. He turned to look at me without alarm and then continued rooting around. Funny looking little creatures, even a bit ugly, but I'm sure his mommy wouldn't think so.

I'll keep you updated on the life of the oppressed opossum. He definitely wasn't playing 'possum today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.