But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Weapons Grade T-shirt.

My presence was demanded at the Town Hall to try and educate the populace of Penicuik in the art of bee keeping. Unfortunately, nobody demanded that the populace should attend. I did take a few posters and a virtual bee hive (actually a real hive with photographs of bees in it), but the pictures are pretty grim. I should really take some of my own and insert them.
 
It was the occasion of a green initiative a bit on the lines of a craft fair. A few people did wander over for a chat, but they were other stall holders.
 
The Blip is of the back of a campaigning lady whose main concern was that nuclear weapons are being transported on British roads; I felt this was a rather narrow viewpoint as this is a small portion of the traffic in nuclear materials. The best thing about nuclear fuel is that the World only has enough to last for another fifty years (allegedly); maybe, by the time we run out of it, someone will have worked out what to do with the spent material.
 
It still horrifies me that for many years I had lumps of spent uranium in my toolbox; they had the benefit of being very dense so that, if you need a very heavy weight, and only a very small space to put it, it is the ideal(?) material. As such, it was used to fabricate balance weights in both military applications and commercial aircraft. Some years ago, the press commented on the panic after an airliner crashed and they couldn’t find all the uranium from it, it had been used to balance the control mechanisms. When I used the stuff, I didn’t know what it was, it was euphemistically referred to as “heavy metal” and was machined in a workshop with no special precautions. I don't seem to have suffered any ill effects, and I don't know anyone who has; I suspect that that is pure chance and that no one  did the arithmatic to check that it was safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.