Distant Rain

I spent a lot of time today watching messages and images from the Hurricane Sandy zone. I just learned that the storm center is making landfall at Cape May, New Jersey, which is about ninety minutes southeast of my home in Philadelphia, where my cats are. Earlier it was announced that the tall ship Bounty sank off North Carolina with two crew members lost. An old friend of mine is horrified and alarmed by this, as she once crewed that vessel herself, wearing a pirate costume in Pirates of the Caribbean. Thousand-mile wide storms always carry bad news.

This is some of the scenery we saw from the hills above Newport, in Pembrokeshire today. I gathered much prettier shots but I chose this one as my blip because the clouds behind me give a lot of shadow, and there is rain falling into the Irish Sea, some miles north. It reminds me of that other storm, farther away.

Here is a shot that's almost the same as one I took today, taken exactly eight months ago, about half a mile west and uphill from today's blip. It's happier too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.