NextSteps

By LynnH

Dog Attack

I keep this stick by the backdoor as I have had problems with a neighbours dog escaping on a morning and attacking Moss as we go out for out walk.

It had got so bad, the dog was tearing after us over the road and several mornings passing cars have had to stop to chase it away. I had thought I'd sorted it by closing the big gate, leaving the stick outside and chasing it off as we came in.

I have spoken to various people in authority but none seem to be able to do anything. My fears are it causes a road accident or attacks a passing dog being walked by children and elderly people.

I've been doing a lot of remedial work with Moss and building his confidence back up with other dogs as he either cowers or lunges at them now. But we were doing ok............................till today.

I was going in to work later than normal, so popped him out for a quick wee, when the dog appeared from nowhere. It cut me off from the house door and the stick and launched the most aggressive attack yet. I couldn't get Moss away and knew I would get bitten if I put my hand in. A neighbour eventually came out as did the dogs owner. Both Moss and I were badly shaken up.

I later found a puncture wound on his shoulder, I am just hoping it will heal without becoming infected. plus when I got to work my boss was shocked at the state of me. I hadn't realised when Moss jumped back he had hit my chin with his head and I'd bitten the inside of my top lip, plus my work clothes were covered in mud and dog slobber.

Poor Moss will not come to get his lead on now so its back to a full desensitizing and counterconditioning training programme for him and I guess I need to think about looking for somewhere else to live if this carried on.

Not a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.