A BLIPMEET PHOTOGRAPH WORTHY OF SILLY SATURDAY

When I read that one of the Blipmeets taking place very soon would be doing lots of walking and taking photographs on the way, I was a little concerned about the Blipmeet planned when Evolybab and Cassnett would be coming to Swindon to meet me because I hadn’t planned anything remotely like that.

I duly met them off the train, wearing my shower cap and sunglasses, just in case they didn’t recognise me, and had decided to take them to the nearby Swindon Designer Outlet, and they were happy with that.  This is situated in what was the old railway works of The Great Western Railway, and where designer clothes and other items can be bought at greatly reduced prices.

On the way there, which was about a 10 minute walk, I gave them a rundown of the history of the area.  Most people who lived in the town, at one time, worked “inside” which was how working in the railway workshops was described.  Many generations of people worked on the railways or in the railway workshops repairing or building locomotives, wagons and coaches.   

I told them that many of Mr. HCB’s family, including him, worked there until it was closed in the 1970s and many of my relatives worked there too - in fact, my grandfather was born and lived with his parents in a little two-up, two-down house in what is known as The Railway Village and in that tiny house, my great-grandmother brought up thirteen children!  I showed them the huge building, which has been allowed to fall into disrepair, known as The Mechanics Institute and then we walked down the long tunnel that railway employees would have used on their way to and from work, but which is now a shortcut to the Designer Outlet.

We had a good wander round when amazingly, I was the only one who didn’t buy anything, and then we went for lunch and had a good chat.  I had met Cassnet before, but had never met Evolybab, but we got on “like a house on fire”.  

Not for us photographs of the old buildings or the shops as they are now, but I decided a threesome selfie would be a good idea - not sure why because I hate selfies - but here we are - and in case you are wondering, I’m the one in the middle with Cassnett on my right and Evolybab on my left!!

Thank you so much, Evolybab and Cassnet, for a lovely day - I hope you both agree it was a great success and we certainly made one or two people laugh!

“Determine to 
     live life
          with flair
               and laughter!”
Maya Angelou

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.