The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Hidden Stroud Part VII: Spider Lane

The man on the bench was back there this morning, though not this afternoon. I think he sleeps on the bench quite often, as I have seen him there on other mornings. It is a quiet, secluded bench, but I fear for him in winter, when the weather turns hostile. At least I know that he is alive, which I did not on Monday, and that there are some free meals and drop in facilities provided by the Marah Trust in Stroud. Perhaps I ought to volunteer there if I want to make a difference to homeless people' lives.

I am not sure why I have chosen this shot: it is certainly not my best one of the day. I just liked the fact that I was walking along a fairly old fashioned street, towards the allotments near my street, when out of a house popped a man in braces! (Or suspenders, as the Americans say, which makes me giggle because, on this side of the pond, suspenders are for holding up stockings!) It was all a bit Hovis-advertisement-ish, and the colours were looking good too, in the rain. By the time I got my camera set up, the man had almost vanished. The massive allotments have a huge gate in front of them, so I will have to go there for a blip when the gate is open.

Spider Lane is a curious name! The street forms part of the rough triangle of the 1930s housing estate where we live, and also leads up to Horns Road, at the end of which is a pub called the Crown and Sceptre that has become highly popular, and which CleanSteve has blipped several times.

Work and the new timetable changes went better today than yesterday, and I emerged intact. CleanSteve had managed to buy a green pumpkin from the farm shop ( their crop did not ripen this summer) but by the time I went out to the post to dispatch a bunch of face creams, the hallowe'en kids were out on the street already! I quickly stuck a candle in the window and got the treats out, so was prepared when four little witches came a-knocking!
Later, I carved the pumpkin and placed it outside, but it began to rain heavily, and all the little bats and pointed hats flew back to their belfries...we never saw another guiser!


The links to the rest of my Hidden Stroud series are on my Bio page.
I have a backdated entry of my day out in Bath

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.