The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Bank holiday nest

What a relaxing, summery bank holiday it has been for us! I started out in the morning to view my friend's collection of items at her yard sale..Stroud was having a Yard Sale Trail, so all over town people were piling all their stuff, mainly children's toys and clothes, into their front gardens or out on the pavement. I'm glad I didn't know about it beforehand, because I'd have forced myself to get involved, and it was really far too hot to sit outside my house with a collection of books and clothes...

Anyway, I bought some children's jigsaws for nursery, and books, and and a home made blackcurrant ice cream and a sun hat at another friend's sale. Then I met up with Steve, as arranged, and we headed off to the river Severn. We like the seaside at Clevedon, but couldn't face the M5 on a bank holiday, so the Severn it was: first a half pint in the busy pub garden at Epney, then to the reeded riverbank at Framilode. Steve went off to spot a reed warbler, and I made a nest in the reeds and watched the river's stillness, while reading my book (appropriately for a tidal riverbank location, its title is 'the tidal zone' , by Sarah Moss). The sun beat down, and I kept applying more and more sunscreen to my left arm and leg...à

When we got home, I cleared out a pile of books to take to the charity shop (even though I'd only bought two today) and made a salad-based supper. I am no longer trying to follow the no-acid diet, because it's too complicated and porridge makes everything much worse for me, but there is a bit of a regime change going on here. Too early to say if it helps.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.