Star Trail

I went to Otley Chevin after dark; a patchy sky with more sky than cloud and a *ahem* 95.8% Waning Gibbous Moon (I read that...) I thought would make for some interesting scenes.

The town of Otley was below my chosen spot on high, the Plough poised perfectly above. To the North East the *ahem* Waning Gibbous Moon was gleaming brightly, Jupiter visible just to the left of it. Behind me to the South a glittering array of streetlights and beacons from Leeds, Bradford, the airport and beyond; and to the left a tantalising scene (this scene) of stars and a trail.

So I took photo's of them all. It was so cold! I truly earned my blip tonight!

I think this was the best of them and I plan to return to get the other scenes. I'm going to wait until the moon is maybe a *ahem* Waning Crescent as it's just too bright at the moment if I want to include some landscape detail. And the towns and cities aren't going anywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.