A time for everything

By turnx3

Asian Foodfest

Sunday
When we went down to the Symphony last night, we could see there was a big event going on in Washington Park across the road. When we got home I went online and discovered it was Asian foodfest, and it was also on today. Since we don’t have any children around to celebrate Mothers Day with, we decided this would be something different to do, and we love Asian food, so after church and bible study, we came home and changed, and headed downtown once again. There were many Asian restaurants represented, and we shared dishes from several of them - they weren’t big helpings. However, we were somewhat disappointed - they were pleasant, but none of them made you feel you had to go and try the restaurant. We were similarly disappointed with the entertainment, in that while we were there, only one group was Asian related, the Cincinnati Dayton taiko ensemble depicted in my collage - traditional Japanese drumming - they were an all-female group, and were very good - it looks to be a good physical workout in addition to making music! The other music was just general western style music. It was a hot, humid day, and the fountains were a central attraction for the kids! So overall, an OK event, but not as good as we’d expected. This evening Roger spoiled me and cooked dinner for me, so I must admit I’ve had a very lazy day! I should add that the kids did remember me from afar, Laura sending the beautiful flowers I mentioned yesterday, and Jen sending a lovely card, so I’m not feeling hard done to, I just miss them and wish they were closer!
One year ago: Farewell Sanibel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.