rower2012

By rower2012

Noisy Miner

As mentioned by Paladian, this morning we went to a working bee at the Belair Station to help with the garden and surrounding area. I also had as my prime objective getting inside the restored signal box that was destroyed in the arson attack 9 years ago. It is always kept locked of course, as this is rare antique stuff with levers and cogs that can still work certain signals.

Old technology that is still in working order, thanks to the dedication of the few who have restored it. See my blip on the BELAIR STATION on October 30th along with the story of the arson attack.

We were too late for the Overland Train (the well-known historic passenger service between Adelaide and Melbourne). So my second choice had to be a freight train coming through the station.

The signal box was unlocked for us by the main restorer, Ivan Brooks, a well-known public figure in this area and our former Mayor. I took several shots and was well satisfied. The freight train was about to pass through so I quickly got into position to catch it from the best angle, but the light was not really the best angle for this time of the day. So at this stage the signal box was my blip of the day.

Paladian wanted to make a quick side trip down to Belair National Park, only 300 or so metres away to look for her blip. After some arm twisting I said I would tag along, just in case she fell into the water from the rather slippery and pebbly bank, and to grab a photo of two in the park. (Paladian said I was really coming along to shoot pix of her if she fell in - and before pulling her out!!)

I found a Noisy Miner digging around, well hanging around, sitting on a branch hoping for some crumbs to come his way. I managed to grab a few shots of him in profile, giving me a good look at the yellow ring behind his eye. Also waiting nearby was a very large raven, so I grabbed a few images of him or her as well. By this time Paladian had the shot she wanted and so it was time to leave.

I figured that I can get a train shot any day, but I am not likely to get this close to a Noisy Miner or Raven again, so it was now a bird blip day. In a photo finish the Noisy Miner won out over the Raven with the Raven, signal box and freight train going to the BLOG for today. Check out my bird of the day in LARGE.

I normally do not compete on feathered blips with Paladian but have managed to get the odd bird shot on October 17th, 18th and 22nd.

The Noisy Miner is a bird in the honeyeater family and common in our south-eastern part of Australia. This miner is a grey bird, with a black head, orange-yellow beak and feet, a distinctive yellow patch behind the eye and white tips on the tail feathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.