ALLERZIELEN (All SOULS)

comes after Allerheiligen (yesterday), always on the 2th of november.
In my roman catholic youth it was an important day. One was invited to go to church and pray a 'rozenhoedje' (rosary) that is five Onze Vaders en 50 Wees gregroet Maria's. If I remember it well of course. On that day and only on that day one could help a soul in the 'vagevuur' (purgatory) leave there and enter heaven.
This could be repeated endlessly but one had to leave chuch every time before starting again. I wondered why but accepted it as obligatory.
Could one name someone whom you thought being in purgatory and wanted to help? I do not know any longer.
I was aware at that time that persons that had died not being catholic could in no way be prayed out of hell. A terrible thought sometimes.
My parents had chosen as adults to become roman catholic and no one of my grandparents happened to be catholic.
It was at school that I learned most of the daily practices. And being a serious little girl I believed it all.
The months May and October were the months that were dedicated to the Holy Mary.
In the month of May I always gathered flowers and put them in a vase before my little statue. Of course Mary was clothed in blue.
In October there was not such a special thing one could do. In both months there was a service every day that was called Het Lof (not sure what the translation could be) , it was held in church and consisted in singing (I liked that) songs for Maria, repeating endless Litanies, and praying the Rozenkrans or part of it. My mother made my brother and me going often. I smile at the remembrance as we sat at the highest balcony and had sometimes a lot of fun.
In the cold morning I walked towards the pond and found the Nile goose, the swans and many coots.

My haiku:

Wees geroet Maria
I repeated many times
She was my hero

And the proverb:

The soul needs few things, the body many.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.