Psalmist with a camera

By jellyfox

I've started so I'll finish!

Today saw the grand finale of the pink month that has been promoted throughout the city for the last 31 days!

A sponsored walk of 2km around the Zabeel park, starting at 8:30am, followed by raucous entertainment, stalls, games, fun and frolics until midnight tonight! Needless to say...I am not still there...frolicking! Am safely at home sitting on the sofa doing my blip! Let the party revelers continue!

As you can see from my blip......to coin a well known phrase..'I started...so I'll finish!' and must say...with the pink rosy glow I have at the end of the walk...can only surmise what I've always known, 'excercise is good for you!' I'm almost matching my pink wig from HK. Thank you Sandy! It definitely turned a few heads!

The camerarderie of the walkers as we all set off was incredible. There were banners and chants from the various groups, school parties, businesses etc....alongside the families and individuals, all walking in support of a survivor or in memory of a loved one...all with a story to tell.

It was a humbling experience to be part of so many striding out with such purpose...it brought home the fact that on your breast cancer journey.....its so true.....'You'll Never Walk Alone' The support is phenomenal.

.....And it was particularly special to be part of it this year from a very different perspective to all preceding years.... this time...from the other side of the divide.

Thank you to those who sponsored my 2km walk...will be in touch. (picture proof! I did it!)

....And a special thank you to a dear friend....who phoned me early this morning just to let me know...she was walking for me. Though we were not able to meet up amidst the enormous crowds in the park....I was so encouraged by her caring and thoughtfulness. Thank you Claudette.

Happy blipping everyone

Should have asked GK to airbrush my chemo marks off my arm!! As I'm in these pics you'll knowI didn't take my blip today...thank you GK for snapping me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.