Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

The Sunset That Never Happened

One of the great things about retirement is you get to do the things you want to do and can skip those things you hate - like shopping - well for most of the time anyway!

Unfortunately, our 24 hours in Glasgow was mostly about shopping. Now there are some bits I can tolerate like having a coffee in Costa, Dinner in the Ho Wong and getting man stuff in B&Q and Ralph Slaters, but the rest simply bursts my knitting - as they say! Its like walking about under a large dark cloud as people pay homage to the great god of consumerism. I never find it very edifying and refuse to believe that consumer spending helps keep our economy afloat!

The best bit was heading west on the M8 and seeing the hills of Argyll on the horizon. There was even a little bit of blue sky to further lift the spirits. Mrs B had clocked the fact that I had timed our departure from Glasgow to coincide with the sunset at West Loch Tarbert. I reckon checking the sunset time on my smart phone at breakfast was maybe a bit of a clue!

As we reached Lochgilphead the clouds were thickening and a good sunset was looking unlikely. This proved to be the case and as we stopped at Kennacraig this was the picture - the worst sunset cloudy sky I have blipped!

Never mind it gives me an excuse to link a shot of West Loch Tarbert taken yesterday morning, when the autumn colours, bands of mist and flat calm loch were quite stunning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.