$199 Beer

No, I didn't leave out the decimal point. I thought I'd misheard Michael the beer man, when he told me a few days ago he'd bought a bottle of this, and it cost that much.

It's the tenth release of Sam Adams Utopias series, and I saw this bottle at Elizabeth Station. The bartender allowed me to fondle it and take the photo. The light was very dim, but I was too nervous to carry the bottle anywhere where it was brighter.

ES has sold two bottles, and is opening two more for tasting on Tuesday, at $20 for two ounces. I wasn't interested at first, but after watching this video, I'm tempted to try it. (You need to click on the 10th Anniversary Tasting Video link.)

The old adage about the two reasons you shouldn't buy a really expensive wine come to mind. The first reason is that you might not like it. The second is that you might like it too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.