Birthday Girl

Our granddaughter is 20 years old, and no one can figure out how that happened so fast. The other character is my son. I can't figure out how he got so old either. If I could remember how old I am, I'd probably be surprised at that too. 

We made her a birthday dinner (barbecued chicken; grilled asparagus; potatoes, garlic and rosemary baked in parchment;* and, as always, a nice salad). Followed by lemon tea cake (pictured), and panna cotta (her absolute favorite dessert). Her gifts included wireless headphones, stuff to clean her car(who knew there were special wipes to clean the dashboard!), a worm bin and a pint of worms which we had to keep in the fridge overnight with no serious after effects. A good time was had by all, even with our lingering colds/virus/allergies.  

* who can tell me the correct way to punctuate this sentence so that the garlic and rosemary stay in the parchment with the potatoes? Commas mix everything up, the semi colons don't seem quite right, and, English major though I am, the rule has vanished. I kind of remember reading something about this in a wonderful memoir by a woman who wrote for the New Yorker, but that has vanished as well. There must be a huge pile of stuff lurking in a forgotten corner of a forgotten room somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.