Just beautiful

The Beautiful demoiselle  Calopteryx virgo, always seems to evade me, every time I go looking for it all I find is the Banded demoiselle, which seems to be far more common in West Sussex where I live.
Well today I really struck lucky and ran into about 5 Beautiful demoiselles basking in the sun by the small bridge at Red River.
The Banded demoiselles are very difficult to photograph, because they are very skitty and very aware of the camera, taking off at the drop of a hat before you can get anywhere near them.
The Beautiful demoiselles however are a totally different matter and I was delighted to find this male not only sat around posing for me, but he also took quite a fancy to Rosie and landed on her arm time and again, and only flew off in the end when a Large Red Damselfly also landed on her arm!
The male Beautiful demoiselle has dark smokey wings, and an electric green/blue body, I can quite see where it's common name comes from!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.