Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Under the weather

I'm home, sick with minor miseries: runny nose, sore throat, plugged ears, lethargy and let-down. I spent the day lying about like the queen of some obscure and forgotten country, indulging myself with tea and chicken soup, reading and drifting. I kept meaning to go to the grocery store, and finally at dusk I emerged, camera bag under my arm in case I saw anything on the way. I was drawn to a spectacularly vibrant ginko next to a small church, shedding its leaves like coins onto the street below. I clicked off a couple of snapshots on the P setting before I realized that the houseless woman who mutters to herself all day and sometimes sleeps by the church door was huddled on her plastic bag of belongings under the ginko tree. I try to imagine living in her body, damp and cold by yellow leaves that yield no warmth, no cover. I cannot imagine it. We are neighbors, but I can't reach her in the dark place where her mind keeps her. I've spoken, and the attention seems to disturb her. She turns away. Once I brought her a cup of tea in a styrofoam cup. She kicked it over and watched it run into the gutter. I leave her alone now. I didn't mean to take a picture of her, but the picture is so blurry and dim, very much the same way I feel, that I think no one could recognize her from it, so I guess I'm not betraying her or exposing her by posting it. She's one of us. She belongs to us. But it gives her no comfort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.