Jigsaw Heaven!

I went into Tavistock today to pick up my clothes from the Second hand shop and take some stuff to St Lukes Children's Hospice shop. As I was returning from the parking ticket machine I saw a woman looking at my chicken bumper stickers and we got chatting. She used to keep chickens but has recently got two rescue dogs - one from Greece! How odd is that?! I asked if she did jigsaws as I had one for the charity shop if she would like it, I said I found them very calming, she said she'd rather have a drink and a cigarette! She then showed me a great flowery jacket she had just got from the charity shop! I do so love chatting to strangers! 
So, after the charity shop off to the Second hand shop -  she had sold a few so I also got some money! I told her how I had sorted some designer summer dresses for her the day she called and she said bring them in! Result! 
After getting a few bits from the Co-Op and browsing the shops ( the extra is especially for MariB, she loves flamingoes and now I see them everywhere! ), I decided to go have a look at the Jigsaw shop Party Girl had told me about. I spoke  about my rediscovered love of doing jigsaws, and she said how every Christmas her dad takes them to the shop to buy a Christmas puzzle - once done it is framed and brought out to hang on the wall the next Christmas - they do love Christmas! The strange thing is I have never noticed the shop!
Well it was Jigsaw heaven! So many all beautifully displayed and the owner was just the  typical eccentric English type! I have no idea how old he was, but the flip down sunglasses attached to his glasses made him appear like a character from Dickens,  his awkward gait, asymmetrical features and gentle, friendly personality were even more like a Dickens character. After dealing with another customer, similarly eccentric and possibly just popped in for a chat, he asked if he could help. We had such a long chat about puzzles and I mentioned how I'd never noticed his shop before even though I had obviously passed it many times! I can't actually believe how I didn't notice it before!  Rather like looking without seeing, similar to hearing but not listening!  He said he had just recently made and put up the eye catching yellow signs on the window to attract people! He showed me an amazing type of puzzle - made by Wentworth they are hardback and odd shaped so rather difficult - and expensive! have to ask my sister to buy me one for Christmas - or maybe if my designer clothes sell I shall buy it myself! 
I debated between another by Colin Thompson as the picture has so many quirky details, or one by Lowry. I decided Lowry was more an Autumn or winter puzzle so went for The Kitchen Cupboard, even though I found the slice of bacon in it rather off-putting as a vegetarian! He asked if I wanted a loyalty card - buy six and you get one free! Yes please I said! I also asked him to pose in front of his shop - he was a little reluctant as he doesn't like his photo taken and said "must I?" when I insisted! I of course said yes! 
So, home to make an orange polenta cake and finish the puzzle of a seascape so I can start my new one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.