The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

Poor little brown bird

Edit: Sorry for pulling the first upload tonight, but wasn't happy with it.




Sitting looking out at the snow today, the bird table got more than its usual amount of visitors. The usual suspects ot Tits, sparrows, robins, blackbirds and the daily visitation of a "murmuration", of starlings.
But this little chappie had me flummoxed.
I googled and got the new site of the RSPB for identifying birds. Unfortunately, it didn't seem to help me, so me, (being me), emailed them.

I got a lovely reply within a couple of hours.


Hello Sheila,

Thank you for your email.

This is a rather cold looking treecreeper. They are not particular rare
but they are unusual in gardens, particularly on feeders. As the name
suggests, they are usually creeping about tree trunks looking for
insects. The snowy weather will force unusual birds into gardens in
search of food.

There is more information about treecreepers on our website
http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/t/treecreeper/index.asp

Best wishes

Richard James
Wildlife Advisor
RSPB UK HQ




Well thats good service.
I reckon sitting in front of a computer answering emails was a pretty good job on a day like today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.