Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Vets in Banja Luka

We have the space and we are situated in a rural location.

So 2 Dogs and 3 Cats is doable without a doubt.

Linda is a Labrador and something (maybe a retriever) mix.

She's a former shelter dog that's not had too good an early life, but has been with us for the past 4 years. We think she's happy here. There are signs that she does, let me put it that way.

The other day she showed signs of not reacting to commands, and our voices in general. It happened pretty rapidly.

Seemed like she was deaf.

Weird, totally weird.

The other day we took her into Banja Luka to "Vet Medik", Vetinary Practice where Vet Mirko Čelić and the rest of the team are.

In a region where animal rights, and the treatment of animals isn't all that prevalent, seeing people like Mirko caring in the way they do about animals, is so reassuring, and to be blunt, wonderful.

Allegedly, animal shelters here could actually be anything but.

I digress.

Within minutes, our vet had worked out that Linda has an ear infection, which requires some basic treatment. All things being equal about 10 days should see significant improvement. And, as I write this post, Linda is showing signs of reacting to our voices.

She's an older dog, about 11 years old, and who we care about deeply.

For someone (me), who never had a pet as a child, was quite savagely attacked by a very irate and big Alsatian bitch some years ago, I find having a dog around me very calming.

I also really respect Vets like Mirko, who can be there to help when needed, and calm me down when I worry about the Linda's and Cooper's of this world. Cooper by the way is our other dog, a Gonić.

Disclaimer:

This isn't a paid promotion for "Vet Medik", but if you ever needed Vetinary assistance in Banja Luka, then that's who I would highly recommend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.