Here and Now

By Mole

Transformation

How often do I see things as black or white
when really there are colors,
colors that I might miss?
 
How often do I see things as multi-faceted
when really they are plain and simple,
simple truths with obvious clues?
 
~~~
 
This Whensday, a nod to my father and his uncle Bob.  Leading out to Uncle Bob’s garage/workshop/home brewery, were cement stepping stones like these, heavily painted in enamel pastel pink and blue.  My father must have acquired some along the way.  And I inherited them, sans most of the paint.  They’ve kept our feet aloft in the mucky mud pit along the side of the house where excavation was done two years ago. This will be the last area we transform.  Next year at this rate.  A few others still in progress.
 
While digging the backyard post-excavation area, Mr Mole discovered a 4” PVC pipe that was once connected to the old garage downspout.  Next week we’ll find out if two sump pumps and two downspouts can be connected to it for drainage. A fun discovery after about a dozen inconclusive opinions on the matter with no clear cut resolution.  In the meantime, Mr Mole is beautifully re-sculpting the backyard beds leading to the woodland garden path on the west end.  East end pending.  I’m saving actual shots for peak bloom.  Felt artistic today.
 
At the hardware store, I picked up the repaired Things That People Who Drive SUVs broke.  An SUV was parked in the No Parking zone again.  It didn’t even phase me today.  At least one transformation is complete.
 
~~~
 
Obstacles will look large or small to you according to whether you are large or small.
- - -  Orison Swett Marden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.