Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Edelweiss

Not being able to take the cog-wheel train up into the higher mountains because of the weather, I was happy to take a picture of these Edelweiss planted with other flowers around the town.

Extras: 
The church and the flag from the canton Valais where we were staying. 
The base of an old chalet (called 'raccard' or mazot) showing the discs of stone used on the 'stilts' to prevent the rats and mice getting in to eat the stores of grain.


This is the last of my back-blipping. If you would like to see the other shots of my time away in the mountains, you can see them starting 11, 12th, 13th June.

By popular demand:
"Edelweiss, Edelweiss
Every morning you greet me
Small and white, clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss, Edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever."


Let's have a little singalong, shall we?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.