Full Day

I start by baking a rhubarb sour cream coffee cake for the knitters, then off for an early (it's still early, even after cooking!) walk on the beach at low tide. Had to vacuum the living room--the knitters are coming, the knitters are coming. Our contractor friend stops by to help me put up a curtain rod, but he is a half hour later than I expected; I ply him with some cake, but don't have time for the promised cup of tea. I'm in the shower when I hear the gopher guy outside--he's checking some digging in the driveway. By the time I get downstairs he's poking around in one of the holes. "He's right there!" he exclaims. "I see him!" Very carefully he sets a trap, baiting it with peanut butter. I watch as the anchor string begins to move. "I got 'im!" he shouts, and indeed, there is a pretty large gopher in the trap. The whole operation takes about five minutes. I know R is good at what he does, but now he is A Legend.  I feel a bit guilty about celebrating the killing of one of god's creatures, but I'm not giving up my garden to god's rodents. 

After all that excitement, the knitters began to arrive. A small group today, but full of stories. I am almost done with my poncho thing! 

As for Flower Friday, I'm still getting some mileage from the astonishing poppy display in the driveway. The bees are in there morning and night, the whole bed is abuzz. Interesting factoid: poppies close up at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.