Sutton Hoo

Coppery gold grasses blow over ancient burial mounds,
Filled with the music of skylarks, nesting on the ground.

Yellow silverweed, blue bugle and purple thistle grow
Among the grasses, where damselflies go.


After visiting the interesting Strangers Museum, one of the oldest houses in Norwich, we left the city and drove to Sutton Hoo in Suffolk to see the remains of the ancient burial grounds. We've seen most of the famous treasures from this site in the British Museum, but it's good to see where they were found and excavated. As so often the greatest treasures for me and my camera were nature's own.

Not sure what the yellow ground-cover wildflower is. I've called it silverweed - poetic licence - but the leaf isn't right. Maybe it's a relative? Likewise, are the purple flowers thistles? Their heads were very round. I think I've correctly identified the bugle, but please correct me if I'm wrong. The little insect is a common blue damselfly (Enallagma cyathigerum).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.