Michigan heat

People always ask if I was really voted Most Bizarre Girl in high school. But that one's actually true. I was living in Michigan in a very conservative town and had a nose-ring and a shaved head and did kind of strange things.

I have the cheese - beautifully ripe goat’s roulade, with pickled strawberries and a ridiculously sweet smear of strawberry sauce.

Back in Okemos, I head upstairs and fall asleep listening to the radio. I awake a couple of hours later and see a message from my host to come and introduce myself.

She and her pal have been drinking. I’m given a glass of Chardonnay and we chat for an hour. Terry is obviously fleeing, repeating herself, amiably, over and over. She loves Scotland and has very fond memories of Dalwhinnie. Who would have thought?

I’m up early again and into the client site. There’s mortgage stress to deal with and fraught phone calls to family. We’ll see if our offer gets accepted, but it’s looking less likely.

The class goes pretty well and then it’s off to Stillwater Grill for dinner with another prospect. Again, who would have thought that you’d get two leads in Okemos, MI at the same time.

It’s really hot here - around 30 - and due to get hotter, and more humid, at the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.